New Pathway to Permanent Residency – Tasmania Gateway
August 2, 2017

Tasmania has introduced a new pathway for people who are interested in migrating to Australia on a permanent basis through the introduction of a new visa category for overseas applicants which will allow them to live and work in the state for four years.

From the 1st of July 2017, a new category for the Skilled Regional Visa (subclass 489) visa has been introduced for Tasmanian state nomination for overseas applicants. This new visa category also offers a pathway to permanent residency for Australia and is now available for offshore applicants who meet the relevant eligibility criteria.

This visa is especially convenient for people whose line of work does not fall under the Skilled Occupations List (SOL). In Tasmania, there is no occupation ceiling, so if your occupation is not present on the Skills Occupations List (SOL) a variety of other options may be considered. This visa will allow many skilled professionals, due to the wider occupation spectrum, to migrate to Australia.

You may be deemed eligible for this visa If you have been nominated by the Tasmanian Government and are willing to commit to living in Tasmania for two years following the grant of your visa. Applicants must also meet certain requirements to receive nomination from the Tasmanian state as well as the Department of Immigration and Border Protection in order to be eligible for the state sponsored visa. These requirements include but are not limited to the following:

Category 1 – Tasmanian Graduate

You may be eligible for this category if you have completed and graduated from a Commonwealth registered tertiary institution in Tasmania and are currently in Tasmania and living in the state for at least 12 months during the period of study.

Category 2 – Job Offer

To be eligible for this category, you must have a formal job offer for a position based in Tasmania.

Category 3A – Overseas Applicant

To be eligible for this category, you must be living overseas and have your nominated occupation listed on the Tasmanian Skilled Occupations List (TSOL). There are also additional requirements which include; meeting a skills assessment against your specified occupation, having a recognised level of English language abilities, and meeting a minimum score on the Department of Immigration and Border Protection’s ‘Point Test’.

Category 3B – Overseas Applicant

You may be eligible for this category if you are living overseas and have received a formal job offer in Tasmania within your nominated occupation.

Category 4 – Family in Tasmania

To be considered for this category, you must have a family member who is an Australian citizen or permanent resident who has been living in Australia for 12 months or more and agrees to provide you with support once you arrive in Tasmania.

Category 5 – Small Business Owner

An applicant may be considered for this category if they can demonstrate a genuine intention to establish a business in Tasmania.

If you are considering applying for the subclass 489 and wish to determine your eligibility for this Tasmanian visa, feel free to contact Alliance International Migration Services where we have a team of Registered Migration Agents and Solicitors who have a wealth of knowledge in assisting skilled migrants apply for various skilled visas. We can also assist you with many other migration services with the potential to establish permanent residency and citizenship in Australia. Feel free to contact our friendly team by giving us a call on 03- 9078 6819 or alternatively, email us at


Think Visa
Corporate Events

Australia General Skilled Migration Webinar 2020

THINK VISA'S AUSTRALIA GENERAL SKILLED MIGRATION WEBINARDon't miss out on the work and living opportunities in Australia. But first, understand everything you need through our FREE webinar!Have you been looking for a change in work and living environments?...

Australia Partner Visa Webinar 2020

AUSTRALIA PARTNER MIGRATION WEBINAR Your Happily Ever After Should Not Be Difficult We value your personal goals and consider them as our own. In this webinar, you will learn all about getting a Partner Visa in the quickest and best possible way especially with the...

AIMS heads up to China in September 2015

AIMS is excited and proud to announce that it will be making its way to Shanghai, China in September this year for the 2015 Shanghai Overseas Property, Immigration , Investment Fair. There has been an increase in the number of elites and millionaires from all walks of...

Season’s Greetings

Season’s Greetings Dear valued clients, 2014 has been an outstanding year for Alliance International Migration Services. The holiday season is a wonderful time for us to remember the friends and customers who help our business and make our jobs a pleasure all year...

You May Also Like…

Temporary Graduate Visa – Subclass 485

Temporary Graduate Visa – Subclass 485

About Subclass 485 Visa   A Temporary Graduate Visa (Subclass 485) is for international students who have either recently graduated with a degree from an Australian institution or have skills and qualifications that are relevant to occupations that fit Australia’s...

Skilled Nominated – Subclass 190

Skilled Nominated – Subclass 190

About Subclass 190   A Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 is a permanent residency visa that grants a skilled worker to live and work in Australia. This visa is point-tested and applicants must be sponsored by an appropriate State or Territory government body to...

* indicates required

Success! Thank you for registering for our upcoming webinar. You should receive a confirmation email shortly.

One of our friendly agents will be in touch with you shortly!